top of page

My Story

The first picture is me in 2008, the second is now. I share these pictures because I want to encourage you in your journey towards a healthier lifestyle. I understand your struggles, and frustrations, and I want to celebrate your successes and victories with you! I’ve been in a place where I wasn’t happy with my weight, didn’t like what I saw in the mirror, and had no energy or motivation. I gradually made small, sustainable changes with exercise and nutrition that have changed my life.

My journey to a healthier lifestyle began in the Fall of 2012. I had always admired those who could run, and had even tried a few times myself but never had the motivation to stick with it. This time I decided to train for my first 5k. After a couple of months of run/walking, my husband decided to join me. We ran our first 5k together in the Spring of 2013. Since then we have run many races from 5ks to full marathons, incorporated strength training into our routine, and have become more mindful of our food choices.

In the process I lost 40 pounds, but I gained so much more! I have more energy, and feel better about myself at the age of 41 than ever before in my life! I have also gained confidence to set and achieve new goals that I never would have dreamed of before!

I am passionate about helping others improve themselves through exercise and nutrition because I know the difference it can make! And that is why I became certified as a RRCA running coach, ACSM personal trainer, and am currently studying for my PN1 nutrition certification. And that is why I started Balance Health and Fitness. I want to encourage you, wherever you are, that you can make small, sustainable changes to improve your health-in mind, body, and spirit!


bottom of page